Teams Selected for World Surfski and World Marathon Champs

CRNZ wishes to congratulate the following athletes who have satisfied selection requirements for the Ocean Racing (Surfski) and 2021 Canoe Marathon World Championships.

Ocean Racing World Championships – Lanzarote, Spain

Daniel Brown – u18 men

Michael Esterhuizen – u18 men

Caitlyn Esterhuizen – u18 women

Rachel Clarke – open women

Garth Spencer – open men

Canoe Marathon World Championships – Pitesti, Romania

Daniel Brown – u18 men

Damien da Silva – u18 men

Garth Spencer – Masters K1

Caitlyn Esterhuizen – u18 women

Liam Lace – u23 men

Quaid Thompson*  – u23 men

Please note that, although these teams are self-funding and CRNZ does not arrange travel to and from surfski and marathon events, CRNZ’s endorsement of entries is subject to Covid-19 conditions. CRNZ will make specific risk assessments in respect of each event and may decide not to endorse entries. We will communicate directly with athletes about these matters. 

In addition, as with previous years, CRNZ remains open to adding athletes to these teams.

*Quaid Thompson did not compete at Marathon Nationals but was selected via the “Exceptional Circumstances” clause of the Selection Regulations based on past performances at Marathon Nationals.