The Canoe Racing New Zealand Sports and Recognition Awards recognise annual and long-term excellence in performance, coaching, service and contribution to the sport.

This is an opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate of the outstanding achievements and the valuable contributions made by Canoe Racing NZ club members, both domestically and internationally.

The following Awards are presented annually:

Female Canoe Sprint Athlete of the Year

Male Canoe Sprint Athlete of the Year

Ocean Ski Athlete of the Year

Marathon Athlete of the Year

Junior (18&U) Athlete of the Year

23&U Athlete of the Paddler 

Masters Athlete of the Year

Team of the Year

Coach of the Year

Official of the Year

Volunteer of the Year 

Club of the Year Spirit of Paddling Award

Recognition Awards

Outstanding Service Award

Excellence Awards

2024 CRNZ Sport and Recognition Awards

Awards Ceremony- Saturday 30 November, Rotorua
The 2024 CRNZ Sport and Recognition Awards will be held on Saturday 30th November at Lake Tikitapu, following the days racing at the Tikitapu 1 canoe sprint event.

We encourage all paddlers and supporters to stay after racing to recognise and acknowledge the awards winners and their achievements and contributions to our sport. This will include a BBQ for everyone.

Nominations open in October!

Nominations will be open from 1st October – 31st October 2023 (midnight)  though an online submission form.

Anyone can nominate someone for a CRNZ award.

Nominations made by a club must be signed off by 2 club officers.

The qualifying period is from 1 October the previous year to 30 September or current year.

AWARDS INFORMATION – Click here for full information including awards criteria, nomination and eligibility information.

2023 Award Winners

Female Canoe Sprint Paddler of the Year- Lisa Carrington
Male Canoe Sprint Paddler of the Year- Scott Martlew
Marathon Paddler of the Year-  Emma Kemp

Ocean Ski Athlete of the Year- Danielle McKenzie
Junior (18&U) Athlete of the Year- Natasha MacGibbon
23&U Athlete of the Year- Alicia Hoskin
Masters Paddler of the Year- Troy Burbidge
Team of the Year- NZ Womens K4-Lisa Carrington, Alicia Hoskin, Tara Vaughan, Olivia Brett
Coach of the Year- Gary Waller
Official of the Year- Toni Hoskin
Volunteer of the Year- Jordan Pearson
Club of the Year- Waitara Kayak Club
Spirit of Paddling-  Emma Kemp