CRNZ athletes among Prime Minister’s Scholarship recipients

Recognised for their dedication and unwavering commitment to the sport, a group of twenty canoe racing athletes have been named as recipients of the 2023 Prime Minister’s Scholarships, with High Performance Sport New Zealand holding ceremonies across the country to recognise recipients over the past few weeks.


Canoe Racing New Zealand would like to congratulate the following men and women: Alicia Hoskin, Ashton Reiser, Ben McCallum, Daniel Brown, Doreen Kemp, Fletcher Moles, Grant Clancy, Hamish Legarth, Julia Padrutt, Kayla Tyrell, Kurtis Imrie, Lucy Matehaere, Max Brown, Olivia Brett, Samalulu Clifton, Sophia Lawson, Tara Vaughan, Teneale Hatton, Thomas MacGibbon, Zach Ferkins – who prove that dedication, hard work, and passion for the sport pays off.


The Prime Minister’s scholarship assists athletes to develop holistically outside sport, in ways that contribute towards their post-sport career and enables the sustainability of our athlete talent pool. The scholarship scheme also helps retiring athletes move smoothly into another career once their sporting career ends.

Applications for Prime Ministers Scholarships 2024 are now open and close 27th November.

Thank you to High Performance Sport New Zealand for supporting our athletes to be the best they can be, during and after their athletic pursuits.