Finalists announced for 2023 CRNZ Awards

The Canoe Racing New Zealand Sports and Recognition Awards recognise and celebrate annual and long-term excellence in performance, coaching, service and contribution to the sport.
We are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2023 CRNZ Sports and Recognition Awards:


Female Canoe Sprint Athlete of the Year

  • Aimee Fisher (Hawkes Bay Kayak Racing Club)
  • Lisa Carrington (Eastern Bay Canoe Racing Club)


Male Canoe Sprint Athlete of the Year

  • Kurtis Imrie (Mana Kayak Club)
  • Scott Martlew (Arawa Canoe Club)
  • Zach Ferkins (Poverty Bay Kayak Club)


Ocean Ski Athlete of the Year

  • Cory Taylor (Poverty Bay Kayak Club)
  • Danielle McKenzie (North Shore Canoe Club)
  • Danika Mowlem (Takapuna Boating Club)


Marathon Athlete of the Year

  • Emma Kemp (Mana Kayak Club)
  • Steven Armstrong (Arawa Canoe Club)


Junior (18&U) Athlete of the Year

  • Dylan Monk (Arawa Canoe Club)
  • Greer Morley (North Shore Canoe Club)
  • Natasha MacGibbon (Arawa Canoe Club)


23&U Athlete of the Year

  • Alicia Hoskin (North Shore Canoe Club)
  • Emma Kemp (Mana Kayak Club
  • Thomas MacGibbon (Arawa Canoe Club)


Masters Athlete of the Year
Winner to be announced at the ceremony


Team of the Year
Winner to be announced at the ceremony


Coach of the Year

  • Carl Barnes/Paul Randall (Waitara Kayak Club)
  • Gary Waller (Eastern Bay Canoe Racing Club)
  • Myka Nuku (Hawkes Bay Kayak Racing Club)


Volunteer of the Year

  • Jordan Pearson (Arawa Canoe Club)
  • Stephen Brown (Bay of Plenty Paddle Sports)
  • Shane Ross (Mana Kayak Club)


Official of the Year
Winner to be announced at the ceremony


Club of the Year

  • Poverty Bay Kayak Club
  • Waitara Kayak Club Spirit of Paddling Award

  • Emma Kemp (Mana Kayak Club)
  • Rosemary Gatland (North Shore Canoe Club)


The following awards will also be handed out at the ceremony:

Recognition Awards
– awarded for contributions made to the club/sport in the past year
Outstanding Service Award–
awarded for more than 10 years of voluntary service to the sport
Excellence Awards – Exceptional level of achievement or contribution to the sport.


2023 CRNZ Awards Ceremony- Saturday 2nd December, Rotorua

The 2023 CRNZ Sport and Recognition Awards will be held on Saturday 2nd December at Lake Tikitapu, following the days racing at the Tikitapu 1 canoe sprint event.

We encourage all paddlers and supporters to stay after racing to recognise and acknowledge the awards winners and their achievements and contributions to our sport. This will include a sausage sizzle for everyone.

For more information on the CRNZ Sports and Recognition Awards, check out