61st Halberg Awards Finalists Announced

We are thrilled to share that the following Canoe Racing NZ athletes and staff have been recognised as finalists for the 61st ISPS Handa Halberg Awards:

Dame Lisa Carrington- High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year finalist

NZ Womens K4 (Lisa Carrington, Alicia Hoskin, Olivia Brett, Tara Vaughan)- ISPS Handa Team of the Year finalist

Tara Vaughan- Sky Sport Emerging Talent Athlete of the Year finalist

Gordon Walker- Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year finalist

The 61st ISPS Handa Halberg Awards will unfold in a black-tie ceremony at Spark Arena, Auckland on Wednesday 14 February 2024. Since its establishment in 1963 by the late Sir Murray Halberg ONZ, the Halberg Awards have been a beacon of recognition for New Zealand athletic feats.

Lisa Carrington and Gordon Walker are no strangers to the Halberg Awards. Lisa has won the Sportswomen of the Year award five times (2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2021) as well as the Supreme Award in 2016 and 2021. Gordon is a 4-time Coach of the Year Winner (2016, 2017, 2018 and 2021).


In 2020, Lisa won Sportswoman of the Decade and Gordon Walker was awarded Coach of the Decade.

This is the 2nd year running that Tara Vaughan has been a finalist for the Emerging Talent award, for athletes under the age of 20years.

Congratulations to these individuals for this prestigious recognition of your efforts and achievements in 2023.

More than just a celebration, these Awards serve as the main fundraiser for the Halberg charity, to support the work of Sir Murray’s legacy of ensuring equal sporting and recreation opportunities for young individuals with physical disabilities.

30 finalists across 6 categories were announced today by Halberg, following nominations by National Sporting Organisations and voting by a panel.
See the full list of finalists here https://halberg.co.nz/61st-isps-handa-halberg-awards-finalists-revealed/