Junior & U23 Canoe Sprint World Championship Team Announcement

Canoe Racing New Zealand would like to congratulate the following individuals on being selected to represent New Zealand this year at the 2023 ICF Junior and U23 Canoe Sprint World Championships.

“After some solid performances and tough competition in trials, we have selected an exciting group of athletes to represent the age groups in Italy,” said National Development Coach Emily Willock.

“It was clear that many of the athletes had put in the work, and built on their experience from Hungary last year elevating their performances to the level they need to be successful on the world stage.”

“I’m looking forward to the work we can do together as a team to get each boat in the best position and condition to race on the international stage so that we can represent Aotearoa and the CRNZ community with māna”.

Congratulations again to all the athletes, and their clubs, coaches and support teams. Good luck for the build up to the 2023 ICF Junior and U23 Canoe Sprint World Championships, which will be held in Auronzo, Italy on 5-9th July.

The selected team is as follows:

U18 Women:
WK1 500m – TBC (selection to be confirmed following NZCT Oceania & NZ Canoe Sprint Championships)

WK2 500m- Natasha MacGibbon (Arawa Canoe Club), Greer Morley (North Shore Canoe Club)

U18 Men:
MK2 500m– Logan Ferguson (Karapiro Kayak Racing Club), Tiago Chamberlain (Arawa Canoe Club)

U23 Women:
WK1 500m– Lucy Matehaere (Otago Kayak Racing Club)

WK2 500m– Lucy Matehaere, Julia Padrutt (Waitara Kayak Club)

WK2 Reserve + WK1 1000m– Emma Kemp (Mana Kayak Club)

U23 Men:
MK1 1000m– Grant Clancy (North Shore Canoe Club)

MK2 500m– Thomas MacGibbon (Arawa Canoe Club), Fletcher Moles (Waitara Kayak Club)

MK4 500m– Fletcher Moles, Grant Clancy, Daniel Brown (Hawkes Bay Kayak Racing Club), Kacey Ngataki (North Shore Canoe Club)