14-strong team named for Canoe Sprint World Championships

Canoe Racing New Zealand would like to congratulate the following athletes on their selection to the upcoming Senior ICF Canoe Sprint World Championships, due to take place in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada (3rd – 7th August, 2022). 

After some fantastic results at the two recent World Cup races in Europe, we are pleased to be able send one of the largest New Zealand teams in our sport’s history. 

Our talented team of 14 athletes will be led by 5-time Olympic Champion, Lisa Carrington along with Tokyo Olympians Alicia Hoskin, Kurtis Imrie and Max Brown and Tokyo Paralympians Scott Martlew and Corbin Hart.

Nathan Luce, General Manager of Performance, is thrilled to have so many athletes heading away to their first Senior World Championships.

“It’s exciting to have nine athletes making their Senior World Championship debuts and to see where they stand amongst the best canoe sprint athletes in the World. “

“This event will serve as an ideal preparation in the lead up to the 2024 Paris Olympic and Paralympic Games,” Luce said.

Women’s Kayak

Olivia Brett (K4 500m) | Arawa Canoe Club
Lisa Carrington (K1 200m, K1 500m, K2 500m, K4 500m) | Eastern Bay Canoe Club
Alicia Hoskin (K2 500m, K4 500m) | North Shore Canoe Club
Tara Vaughan (K4 500m) | North Shore Canoe Club

Men’s Para

Peter Cowan (VL3) | Haeata Ocean Sports Inc.
Corbin Hart (KL3) | North Shore Canoe Club
Scott Martlew  (KL2) | Arawa Canoe Club

Men’s Kayak

Max Brown (K2 500m) | Whanganui Kayak and Multisport Club
Ben Duffy (K4 500m) | Arawa Canoe Club
Zach Ferkins (K4 500m) | Poverty Bay Canoe Club
Kurtis Imrie (K2 500m) | Mana Kayak Club
Hamish Legarth (K4 500m) | Hawkes Bay Kayak Racing Club
Ben McCallum (K1 1000m, K4 500m) | Waitara Kayak Club
James Munro (K1 500m, K2 1000m) | Otago Kayak Racing Club
Ashton Reiser (K1 200m, K2 1000m) | North Shore Canoe Club