Olympians, athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers recognised

Our Olympic and Paralympic athletes, coaches and officials were acknowledged at last night’s CRNZ Annual Awards, alongside other high performing paddlers, volunteers and organisations recognised for their achievements and dedication to the sport in 2021.

This evening was the first opportunity our community has been able to publicly recognise the athletes who represented New Zealand so admirably at the Tokyo Olympics last July, as the country entered a nationwide level 4 lockdown before the team were released from MIQ. Covid restrictions have been in place since then.

Max Brown, Kurtis Imrie, Lisa Carrington, Caitlin Regal, Teneale Hatton, Alicia Hoskin, Scott Martlew and Corbin Hart, as well as their coaches Nathan Luce, Gordon Walker, Tim Brabants and Leigh Barker were all acknowledged.

Matt Warren, Karen Simpson-Warren and Alison Harris were also recognised for their role as Officials at the delayed 2020 Olympics and Paralympics, with Matt Warren being presented the Don Cooper Cup for Official of the Year.

Lisa Carrington and Caitlin Regal were awarded Excellence awards for winning  a Gold medal(s) at the Tokyo Olympics, and  won the MacDonald/Thompson/Ferguson/Bramwell Cup for Team of the Year, for their gold medal winning and world best time performance in the WK2 500m at Tokyo.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, Lisa was also awarded the Ian Ferguson Cup for Canoe Sprint Athlete of the Year, following her record breaking 3x Gold medal haul last year.

Aimee Fisher received an Excellence Award, following her dominant win in the WK1 500m World Championship last year.

Her coach Gavin Elmiger, who was also recognised with an excellence award, won the Gordon Walker Cup for Coach of the Year, for his work with athletes of all abilities at North Shore Canoe Club.

Liam Lace won Marathon Athlete of the Year, Garth Spencer won Ocean Ski Athlete of the Year and Nenni Disse was awarded Masters Athlete of the Year. Greer Morley was presented with the Junior Athlete of the Year, resulting from her impressive performances at Nationals last year  where she won both U16 and U18 events in K1, K2 and K4.

The Dennis Rae Cup for volunteer of the year went to Sonja Brown, for her tireless and dedicated contribution to North Shore Canoe Club, in whatever role or capacity is required.

Finally the Rod Gavin Cup for Club of the Year was awarded to North Shore Canoe Club. The club vision ‘inspiring people to paddle’ has resulted in development and growth in all levels of paddling at NSCC and membership has increased significantly over the last year. At the 2021 Canoe Sprint Nationals, the club won the top Overall points.

Earlier in the evening at the Canoe Racing NZ AGM, it was agreed that Gavin Elmiger and Steve Richards were to be Recipients of Life Membership Awards for their dedication to the Sport of Canoe Racing. More to come on these individuals shortly.

Congratulations to all recipients this evening. It was special to be able to reflect on a extremely successful year, despite all the challenges that came along with it.
Full list of award winners below:

Olympic Recognition Awards
Recognises our Olympians and their coaches.

Lisa Carrington
Caitlin Regal
Scott Martlew
Alicia Hoskin,
Teneale Hatton
Corbin Hart
Kurtis Imrie
Max Brown

Lee Barker
Gordon Walker
Nathan Luce
Tim Brabants

Excellence Awards
These are awarded to athletes and their coaches who have medalled at World Championship and Olympic events, as well as Officials officiating at these events.

Aimee Fisher, Gold K1 500m World Champs
Lisa Carrington, Gold K1 500m, K1 200m, K2 500m Olympics
Caitlin Regal, Gold K2 500m Olympics

Gordon Walker
Nathan Luce
Gavin Elmiger

Karen Simpson-Warren (Paralympics),
Matt Warren (Senior and Junior World Champs, Super Sprint, Olympics),
Alison Harris (World cup 1, Senior World Champs, Super Sprint, Olympics)

Life Membership Awards
Gavin Elmiger
Steve Richards

Marathon Athlete of the Year   – Liam Lace

MacDonald/Thompson/Ferguson/Bramwell  Cup – Team of the Year- Lisa Carrington & Caitlin Regal

Ocean Surf Ski Athlete of the Year- Garth Spencer

Carrington Cup – Junior Athlete of the Year- Greer Morley

Brett Leask Cup – Masters Athlete of the YearNenni Disse

Ian Ferguson Cup – Canoe Sprint Athlete of the Year- Lisa Carrington

Gordon Walker Cup  –  Coach of the Year – Gavin Elmiger

Don Cooper Cup – Official of the Year- Matt Warren

Dennis Rae Cup – Volunteer of the Year- Sonja Brown

Rod Gavin Cup – Club of the Year-  North Shore Canoe Club