Reiser is the hat-trick hero

Author -  Karen Simpson

Ashton Reiser was the star turn on the opening day of the 2019 NZCT Canoe Sprint New Zealand and Oceania Championships at Lake Karapiro, securing a hat-trick of open men’s 200m titles.

Reiser is the hat-trick hero

Ashton Reiser was the star turn on the opening day of the 2019 NZCT Canoe Sprint New Zealand and Oceania Championships at Lake Karapiro, securing a hat-trick of open men’s 200m titles.

Ashton Reiser 2.jpeg

Ashton Reiser, North Shore

Ashton Reiser was the star turn on the opening day of the 2019 NZCT Canoe Sprint New Zealand and Oceania Championships at Lake Karapiro, securing a hat-trick of open men’s 200m titles.

The 20-year-old paddler, who had never previously won an individual national title, opened his account on a blisteringly hot day in Cambridge by edging a thrilling K1 200m duel with Kurtis Imrie (Mana) by just 0.06.

The North Shore paddler then teamed up Karl McMurtrie to secure a third successive national K2 200m crown before he triumphed with his Auckland-based club in a fast and furious K4 200m final.

In the open men’s K1 200m final – the day’s marquee final - Reiser made a quick start but in the middle phase of the race it looked like Imrie had nudged ahead. However, in a grandstand finish the North Shore paddler produced a late surge to claim a narrow victory in 35.88.

The 38-year-old veteran and four-time Olympian Steven Ferguson (North Shore) rolled back the years to produce an eye-catching performance to claim bronze in 36.43.

“I can’t believe it, I’m so stoked,” explains Reiser. “I’ve been in surf lifesaving and kayaking for ten years and I’ve never won an individual national title.

“I knew I was paddling well but the boys were too. I had one of my best starts. It was nice to have held starts here and to be in a stable boat.

“My strength is the last 100m. I knew it was close across the finish line, but I thought I had got it.”

Reiser and McMurtrie (North Shore) landed a hat-trick of national K2 200m titles with a dominant display.

McMurtrie had been disappointed to miss out on the A Final of the K1 200m after enduring an injury-hampered build up because of ongoing shoulder issues.

However, as a glowing testament to his mental resolve he refused to let the experience crush him and produced a great paddle alongside Reiser to secure gold in 34.42 – 0.75 clear of Alex Fort and Steven Drabble (Arawa). The podium was rounded out by the duo of Ethan Moore (Mana) and Toby Brooke (Whanganui)  (35.52). 

“I just had to focus on the K2 and keep up a positive energy,” explains McMurtrie of his attitude following his K1 disappointment. “I had to work to my strengths and it turned out well.”

Reiser’s golden day was completed as he joined McMurtrie, Timothy Waller and Tuva’a Clifton to strike gold in the K4 200m. The North Shore crew clocked 33.21 to finish more than a second clear of the Arawa quartet, who claimed silver.

Lisa Carrington (Eastern Bay) led the qualifiers for tomorrow’s women’s K1 200m in what promises to be a high-class all Tasman showdown between the top Kiwi and Australia paddlers.

The double Olympic and six-time world champion looked in total control, winning semi-final number one in the fastest time of 40.50. Behind her, Australia’s 2017 World K1 1000m champion Alyce Burnett (41.28) placed second with teenager Alicia Hoskin (Poverty Bay) securing the third and final spot for the final with an inspired paddle (42.01).

Australia’s 2017 World K1 200m finalist Jo Brigden-Jones (41.20) impressed in the second semi-final clinching victory by two-tenths of a second from Aimee Fisher (Hawkes Bay). Caitlin Ryan (North Shore) also successfully navigated the route into the final placing third in 41.70.

Jamie Roberts of Australia (42.36) grabbed victory in the third semi-final and also advances into the A final alongside her compatriot Ella Beere (43.00) and Kayla Imrie (Mana) 42.65.

Australia prevailed in the women’s K2 200m final as Jo Brigden-Jones and Jaime Roberts powered to an impressive win 37.39. Their compatriots Ella Beere and Cat McArthur took home second spot (38.89) with the lead Kiwi pairing of Caitlin Ryan and Briar McLeely (39.04) placing third.

Meanwhile, Poverty Bay retained their K4 200m (Alicia Hoskin, Britney Ford, Kim Thompson and Alex Bermingham) crown with a dominant paddle. The Gisborne-based foursome stopped the clock in 36.56 – to finish 1.28sec clear of Waitara in silver. North Shore (38.39) completed the podium.

In the age-groups, Sam Ferkins was an emphatic winner of the men’s U18 K1 200m – running out a decisive winner from Jack Clifton (Whanganui) in 38.64.

Olivia Brett (Arawa), bravely competing just four weeks after tearing her medial knee ligament, took out the U18 women’s K1 200m and also teamed up with Pieta Luthi to take gold in the K2 200m event.

There was also a pair of noteworthy performances in the U14 divisions - as Zane Mills-Nossiter (Whanganui) secured a hat-trick of boys’ 200m titles and Ngarita MacKenzie of the Arawa club achieved the same feat in the girls’ 200m events.

In the heats of the open men’s K1 1000m defending champion Quaid Thompson (Poverty Bay) led the qualifiers, recording a time of 3:45.75.

The highlight of day two of the programme on Saturday will be the eagerly-anticipated open women’s K1 200m final as well as the open men’s K1 1000m final.

Up to the minute draw and results can be found via our App (find Canoe NZ in the Play Store – free to download). Or check the Live Results Website.
Reiser is the hat-trick hero

Post New Comment

Name *
Comment *


Latest News & Features

Covid-19 Watersports Response

Covid-19 Watersports Response

As we move into Alert Level 4, the government, police and coastguard have updated and clarified ...

CRNZ response to Olympic and Paralympic Postponement

CRNZ response to Olympic and Paralympic Postponement

Canoe Racing NZ fully accepts the decision of the IOC and the Japanese Government to postpone the ...

Covid-19 and the CRNZ Community

Covid-19 and the CRNZ Community

Our clubs are likely to be affected by new restrictions and protocols caused by the Covid-19 ...

© Copyright 2020 Canoe Racing New Zealand