Kayak Krazy 10km Race - Waitara

Author -  Karen Simpson

Results for the Kayak Krazy 10km race held at Waitara on Sunday.

Kayak Krazy 10km Race - Waitara

Results for the Kayak Krazy 10km race held at Waitara on Sunday.

Sunday 24th August saw 30 paddlers line up on the Waitara river for the next of the 10Km series of races. With a snow capped Mount Taranaki in the background, the weather would have been perfect, had it not been for the howling southerly pushing across the river and creating quite a disturbing side wash. To accommodate these conditions the 5 lap course was set close to the Southern bank.

Thanks to a large contingent from Wanganui, and a smaller one from North Shore, the racing was exciting. In the first 500m the field quickly split with Max Brown, Toby Brooke, Lachie Cromar, and Thomas Cole making up the lead group, and Brian Scott with Rebecca Cole chasing hard. This group stayed pretty tight, with Max eventually taking the win, Thomas coming second and Toby third. Rebecca, not that far behind, took out the ladies title, and Brian the Masters.

In the U18 women North Shore's Rochelle Austin had a convincing win over Wanganui’s Erica Tanner. The U18 men’s title was claimed by Lachie Cromar.

The junior races were dominated by Waitara paddlers. Cassandra Wilson in the U16 woman’s race lead from start to finish, as did Thomas the men’s U16. And in the U14 the mens title was claimed by Corban Le Breton, and the womans by Natalie Walsh.

The masters event was dominated by Wanganui, with Brian claiming honours in the men’s race and Robyn Scott in women's.



U14 Women 6km      TimePlace  
Natalie Walsh 38.41 1
Tatum Radcliffe                   41.16 2

U14 Men 6km       Time  Place
Corban Le Breton                36.091       
Ben Foster42.142

U16 Women 6kmTimePlace
Cassie Wilson 33.06  1       
Ariana Kereopa 34.472
Sassafraz Marshall-Johnson 37.583
Keely O'Keeffe  38.084

U16 Men 6kmTime  Place  
Thomas Cole30.23  1     
Gregor Park32.082
Abe Larsen34.433
Cambell Tanner35.334
Max McCallum                   36.375

U18 Women 10km TimePlace
Rochelle Austin                  56.151
Erica Tanner1.00.452

U18 Men 10kmTime   Place
Lachie Cromar                    50.37 1
Tim Rowe55.21   2

Open Women 10km              Time   Place
Rebecca Cole51.041
Phoebe Cromar1.01.362

Open Men 10km                      Time   Place
Max Brown50.151
Toby Brooke50.182

Rec Women 10km          TimePlace
Robyn Scott1.01.371
Kylie Gibson1.03.582
Alison Cole1.04.093
Tara Allerton1.04.294

Rec Men 10km                TimePlace
Brian Scott51.441
Gerry Callebaut54.042
David Jupp55.223
Paul Randall55.364
John Wilmshurst1.04.26 5


Kayak Krazy 10km Race - Waitara

Post New Comment

Name *
Comment *


Latest News & Features

Impressive results at Asia Pacific Cup

Impressive results at Asia Pacific Cup

New Zealand impressed at the 2019 Asia Pacific Cup on Lake Karapiro - snagging an impressive medal ...

Asia Pacific Cup

Asia Pacific Cup

The second edition of the Asia Pacific Cup is set to hit Lake Karapiro Friday to Sunday (May 10-12) ...

© Copyright 2019 Canoe Racing New Zealand