Kayak Krazy 10km - Karapiro

Author -  Karen Simpson

Kayak Krazy 10km - Karapiro

2016 Karapiro 1.jpg

Article by Brad Hayes

Some gusty southwesterly cross winds were tricky for some, but it was a great day on Lake Karapiro with flat water on the 2km out and back course.  We had 25 entries from as far afield as Gisborne, Waitara and north of Auckland.  The two Karapiro Tyros were first away and had a close race, with Libby Tonks beating Logan Ferguson by just 0.6 seconds.  Next start were the U14 and U16 paddlers racing for three laps (6km).  Jack Read took the win in a fast 32 minutes.  U16 paddler Abby Collins took the large Toblerone home for fastest female.

The remaining divisions paddling 10km had a mass start and some close racing followed.  Fastest time went to Jordan McLarin in 48:16, beating Sam Newlands in a tight sprint for the line.  Simon McLarin was fastest masters paddler in 50:27 so the McLarin household ate a lot of chocolate on the way home to Auckland.

In addition to the large amounts of chocolate for podium finishers, paddlers and supporters enjoyed a sausage sizzle and pumpkin soup courtesy of the KKRC team and the Suttons brought a generous supply of health food over from Gisborne in the form of some excellent mandarins.  Many thanks to them and to all who helped on the day.   An enjoyable day's racing! 

Full Results:

Tyros Women 2km Place Time
Libby Tonks 1st 15.18.0
Tyros Men 2km Place Time
Logan Ferguson 1st 15.18.6
U14 Men 6km Place Time
Jack Read 1st 32.01.7
Archie Tonks 2nd 35.32.4
U16 Women 6km Place Time
Abby Collins 1st 41.05.5
U18 Men 10km Place Time
Ben McCallum 1st 50.13.0
Toby Sutton 2nd 52.59.9
Sean McCarthy DNF
Open Men 10km Place Time
Jordan McLariin 1st 48.15.8
Sam Newlands 2nd 48.16.2
Masters Men 10km Place Time
Simon McLarin 1st 50.27.4
Chris Emmett 2nd 50.34.0
Sean Murphy 3rd 51.43.7
Kim Harker 4th 53.07.1
Adam Fraser 5th 53.09.8
Paul Dutton 6th 53.55.1
Brad Hayes 7th 55.02.6
Ron Cole 8th 55.03.7
Paul Fitchett 9th
Philip Noble 10th
Kevin Sargent 11th
Marshall Hollister-Jones DNF
Masters Women 10km
 Rosemary GatlandDNF  
K2 10km Place Time
Phil Exeter & Bruce Stuart 1st 50.53.2

The overall points can be viewed on the website




Kayak Krazy 10km - Karapiro

Post New Comment

Name *
Comment *
Enter the code shown *


Comments: 0

View Comments

Kayak Krazy Results - North Shore

The last of the kayak crazy 10km series races before the Champs to be held this coming weekend, was hosted by North Shore Canoe Club at the new venue of Greenhithe estuary boat ram ...

Author: Karen Simpson

Trading Post

K1 Nelo Cinco SCS XXL

Date: Thursday, 16 March 2017

Author: Dougie

Jantex Gamma Rio Small+

Date: Wednesday, 15 March 2017

Author: Ben

K1 XLVajda

Date: Saturday, 4 March 2017

Author: Jack


Latest News & Features

Females fire on final day of nationals

Females fire on final day of nationals

Date: Sunday, 19 February 2017

Aimee Fisher has further cemented her place as Lisa Carrington’s heir apparent after a commanding ...

Imrie shines in men's racing

Imrie shines in men's racing

Date: Sunday, 19 February 2017

Kurtis Imrie was just 1.37secs from creating history at the New Zealand canoe racing championships ...

Fisher flexes muscles at canoe sprint champs

Fisher flexes muscles at canoe sprint champs

Date: Friday, 17 February 2017

Hawkes Bay’s Aimee Fisher won her first New Zealand K1 200m kayaking title at Lake Karapiro today, ...

© Copyright 2017 Canoe Racing New Zealand