2019 World Champs Selection Announcement

CRNZ would like to congratulate Caitlin Ryan and Alicia Hoskin, who have been selected to represent New Zealand in the K2 500 at the upcoming ICF Sprint World Championship in Hungary. They join the previously announced team members.  The full team selected for the World Championship is:

Event Athlete(s)

WK1 200          Lisa Carrington
WK1 500          Lisa Carrington
WK2 500          Alicia Hoskin and Caitlin Ryan
WK4 500          Lisa Carrington, Aimee Fisher, Kayla Imrie and Caitlin Ryan
KL2 200           Scott Martlew
MK1 1000        Quaid Thompson   

MK1 5000        Quaid Thompson
MK2 1000        Max Brown and Kurtis Imrie


We would like particularly to acknowledge Alicia Hoskin, Max Brown and Kurtis Imrie. This is the first time that these three athletes will represent New Zealand at the Open World Champs. This selection is recognition of their performance to date in 2019 and we wish them all the best in joining the NZ team.

The CRNZ Board has extended the Selection Date for the MK4 500 until 9 August in order to give our U23 K4 crew a further opportunity to meet the required performance standard. As such, it is possible that further athletes may be selected to our World Champs team.



Latest News & Features

Covid-19 Watersports Response

Covid-19 Watersports Response

As we move into Alert Level 4, the government, police and coastguard have updated and clarified ...

CRNZ response to Olympic and Paralympic Postponement

CRNZ response to Olympic and Paralympic Postponement

Canoe Racing NZ fully accepts the decision of the IOC and the Japanese Government to postpone the ...

© Copyright 2020 Canoe Racing New Zealand